Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One quality that a successful leader must have is to make decisions quickly. When a leader takes too much time to make decisions, he will be seen as inefficient to the people he leads.

Our society is growing so fast that our tasks usually become bigger and more complex, which makes the teamwork more essential than ever. A leader is the core of a team, who plays an important role in team management and making decisions. So the ability of the leader can directly affects the efficiency of the team.

First of all, the leader who makes decisions quickly can easily catch the opportunities. The world has never stopped changing, and chances to success are always fleeting. Let’s take the investment for example. The most beneficial way to invest is always changing. Twenty years ago, the first group of people who invested stocks in had earned a lot of money. Ten years had passed, and the first group who started the business about internet earned more, such as Tencent and Alibaba. Five years later, the situations changed again, when the housing price began to increase at an incredibly speed, so the people who invested the real estate became millionaires. The faster you figure out the situation, the bigger chance you will have to succeed. So making decisions quickly is essential for a successful leader.

Moreover, a leader needs to make decisions as swiftly as possible to keep at the forefront in the competition. People today are under the sever competitions. Not only do they compete in business, but also they compete for honor. Scientists always try to be the first one who finds the new discoveries. A few days later and the honor will not belong to you. If the leader spend too much time before starting the program, the leader’s team will be possibly fall behind and finally miss the discovery. That’s why effective leaders needs to make decisions quickly in older to become the first detector.

Besides, your teammates will lose patience during the waiting time. If you take a long time to decide, you are wasting the time of all group members. Their enthusiasm and motivation start to decrease, which leads to the inefficiency of your groups. On top of this, not only will you disappoint your group members, which damage your leadership, but also you will let your investors down. And you could even lost the fund to start the program. So making decisions quickly ensure the success of your program.

To sum it all, it is obvious that making decisions quickly is a quality that a successful leader must have. And when a leader takes too much time to make decisions, he will be seen as inefficient to the people he leads.