Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The opinion of celebrities, such as entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

It is no secret that in this progressive and modernized world the so-called celebrities in every society are followed by people and particularly by youngsters. In this regard, some people are inclined toward this opinion that these famous people mostly are followed by young people whereas others hold exactly an opposite perspective. As far as I am concerned, the former is more acceptable. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two noticeable reasons.

First, one should take into account the fact that youngsters are more exposed to different information, so the more information about celebrities the higher importance for an individual. There are a wide variety of applications on the Internet such as Instagram, telegram, to name but a few, in which every celebrity has their own page and tries to attract more followers. On the other hand, young people are more interested in these applications among all the people of a community. Therefore, it is crystal clear that the possibility of a young person to be exposed to specific news about celebrities is much higher than an old one. To shed light on this issue, a study has been conducted in our country last year. In this study, the outputs of the three applications that are used by most of the people were investigated. Based on the study’s result, about 75 percent of all users’ ages were in the range 15 to 38. It is completely obvious that a high portion of users were young people, which is compelling evidence that young people are more subjected to celebrities’ posts and news.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that celebrities play as role models in every community. It is no secret that young people lack enough experience and so, their personalities are not figured completely. Therefore, they attempt to find a role model for themselves based on their interests and factors. In this vein, celebrities’ reputation and appearance have a significant effect on youngsters’ decision in order to select a role model. As soon as, they choose a celebrity, they try to imitate some of that celebrity’s actions or even lifestyle. As an example to illustrate this issue, when I was a high school student, I was fascinated by Nicole Kidman. So, I followed all the news that was related to her. When I found she is a vegetarian, although I liked foods contain meat, I tried to copy her diet and became a vegetarian. This personal example shows that every young person can be impressed by a celebrity and changed parts of her or his lifestyle.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that since young individuals need a role model in their lives and also, as they access to various information resources, they are more fascinated by celebrities than older people. Consequently, the celebrities’ opinions and beliefs and lifestyles are more important for youngsters.