Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in today’s progressive world where we live, human being is exposed to diverse assortments of events and occurrences, each of which being covered with mass media. However, people are faced with the dilemma of whether to be dependent on one or various news resources in order to be well-informed. Personally speaking, I hold the view that a person must get information from different sources, not just merely rely on one news resource. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that with the advancement of the world and the accentuated ebbs and flows of different aspects of humans’ lives like the economical, social, scientific and cultural perspectives, to name but a few, individuals’ thirst to gain more information about all the occurrences around the globe has also increased. To quench this thirst in people, they are provided with various news resources such as CNN, BBC, NYT, social networking, newspaper, and the like. In this vein, every individual will take advantage of being aware of a diverse set of perspectives being presented by various resources. Undeniably, each of these news resources analyzes the information on the basis of their own line of thought which in turn leads to a prejudiced and biased analysis. Being exposed to various resources, however, increase the opportunity for people to make a sound and reasonable understanding on the basis of their own critical thinking. To put it into a more vivid picture, during the presidential election in 2018, each of the news resources were inclined to highlight and direct their audience to one specific candidate. It is not surprising that if a person is confined solely to one news source, he or she will blindly and unconsciously get attracted to one candidate which may not be even the right choice. This was the case that happened to me in the previous election. Since I considered CNN as the most reliable source of news and did not even read the news from different sites, I mistakenly voted for Trump who has been ruining our country.

Furthermore, another equally important reason which should be mentioned is that knowing different perspectives from a variety of sources will positively affect people’s mind. To put it in other words, people will be more open to criticism and they will certainly become open-minded if being exposed to various sources. It is no secret to anyone that gaining information from various resources means that people will be provided with various thought which may be in favor or opposed to their own belief. Under such circumstances, they surely will learn to respect different opinion and analyze various beliefs so as to accept one of the most conspicuous ones later. For instance, every day I check various news resources to gain some information on events that have occurred around the world. Although some of which contradict my own belief, I learnt how to go along with various opinions and respect other’s opinion, as well.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons into account, I firmly believe that gaining information from various sources is more beneficial for people to be well-aware because it will provide them different perspectives, moreover they can enhance their ability to be more open-minded in order to accept various opinions.