Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When we talk about the issue that whether parents today are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past. Usually there will be two types of answers. On one side, some people may say that parents today involve more in their children's education. On the other side, some may argue parents in the past involved more, because scholars had highest social statuses in China before. For me, I believe that parents today are more involved in their children's education.

To begin with, it is true that Chinese parents in the past cared about their children's education, since scholars used to be the holiest occupation in China before. Therefore, a lot of parents wanted their kids to be educated, so they can have a better life. For example, I remember when I was learning Chinese history in high school. My historical teacher shared many stories about how ancient Chinese invested their whole resources just to let their children have better education, so one day they could become scholars or governmental officials.

However, if we put economic contexts in to the consideration, we would notice that parents today are involved more in children's education. Since the economic level before was lower than today, many children had to work to support the finance of their families. For instance, I often heard my aunt saying that after she graduated from elementary school, she had to stop going to school and help my grandparents farm the filed. Because survival was much more important that education at that time, so my grandparents did not really care about their children's education before.

Furthermore, with the prevalence of highly educated people in the society today, in order to may their children more competitive, parents now invest more resources on their children's education. Take my cousin for example, my cousin is 10 years younger than me. And every time I went to visit my uncle, I always saw my cousin was learning somethings from her tutors. So I asked my uncle why he put so many pressure on my cousin, he answered that if he did not invest his daughter now, she may become a loser in the future.

To conclude, despite parents before still cared about their children's education, parents today are involved much more intensively than before.