Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue that whether parents should offer their school-age children money for each high grade they get in school is a hot debated one. On one hand, some people claim that the money can work as incentive for children to study. On the other hand, some may argue that children are not mature enough to handle money. For me, I believe that it is a good idea to encourage children to study, for the following reasons.

First of all, offer school-age children money for each high grade they get in school can motivate them to keep studying hard. Since rewarding is a good way to help human habituate new habit, it can make children establish positive study habit. For example, I remember when I was elementary school children. Every time I got a good grade, my parents would offer me a little amount of money to buy things I want to buy. Because my parents did not really let me buy snacks, so every time I received the money, I would use my price to buy chocolate. And the desire of eating chocolate motivated me to get high grade again.

Moreover, it can also help children establish correct idea of resource management. Since children do not have many chances to manage their money by themselves, it is a good way for them to learn how to spend money properly. Let's take my own experience as example again. When I turned into the teenage boy, chocolate was no longer an attractive incentive for me to study. So, what my parents did was raise a bit of my price, and told me I could save the money that I got, in that way I could buy things that were attractive to me, such as sneakers or clothes. With the help of these experiences, I have developed saving habit, which is still very helpful for me today.

However, some people may argue that letting children manage their own money can be harmful for them, since they can use the money to buy things like video games that would distract them. It is true that offering money to children would have this risk, yet children have to be independent one day, they will eventually need to learn how to manage their own money. Then why do not we let them start learning earlier, right?

In conclusion, although the concerns that some people have in mind are reasonable, if children really get distracted by things that they bought, they will eventually receive the penalty that they deserve, which is losing their reward.