Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Making decisions plays a pivotal role in young people's lifetime, which may influence far-reaching in their future. It has triggered the debated issue as to who should young people in different eras make decisions depended on. My view is that today young people relative possibly make decisions by themselves than people in the past. More reasons and examples might be shed light on as follows.

First and foremost, the quality and quantity of information play a dominant role in making decisions, and young people nowadays have more chances to acquire information. Whatever decisions people make, all should collect different aspects of information to ensure people can be responsible for consequences, so today young people fortunately have the Internet, which can search a variety of information, to help them determine next steps. For instance, it was hard for me to decide what department should I attend. Hence, I searched much information on the Internet about possible future jobs and courses in the college. Finally, I was able to determine my option and believe it was a good choice.

Besides, freedom usually influences significantly on people’s decisions, and children in the modern time have much space to pursue their decisions. In the traditional society of Taiwan, parents always attended to children’s decisions, which gave rise to children being unable to choose their own dreams. On the contrary, modern parents encourage children to determine by themselves, which squarely opposites to the past. Take my family as an example, my father preferred to be an engineer than a doctor, but my grandfather forced him to study the department of medicine, which was seen as an esteemed status. However, in my generation, my parents really support my every decision, which I want to study in the department of engineering.

Last but not least, money is an essential role in making own decisions, and young people in the past had less money. If young people want to conduct every action by themselves, it is undoubted that their parents’ assistance is indispensable, which is hardly seen in the older generation. Thus, they should turn into following their parents’ advice to schedule their life. For instance, my uncle expected to study abroad for his bachelor’s degree, but my grandfather had no money to afford his school’s tuition. Hence, he chose to study in a normal university that does not need tuition and has an extra allowance.

In conclusion, young people in the past decades had to make decisions by their parents' suggestions, while nowadays are able to determine by themselves. Information searching, freedom from society and parents and money have influence deeply whether young people can make decisions on their own.