Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a doubt, independence has been one of the most important concerns of every individual through history, and it is critically important that people be able to make decisions about their own lives. While many believe in comparison with the past, young people are more independent in order to make a decision, others disagree with this idea. I strongly believe that nowadays, youth are more independent from family attachments and are able to manage their life. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that due to the emergence of the internet and technological advances, people are now more exposed to new information and are open to new ideas about life. In other words, the internet plays an influential role in educating people. For instance, parents now are more concerned about how to raise independent children. in this regard, they are provided with a vast range of books, tutorials, and online courses which encourage them to let their children make their own decision from childhood. For example, it is an accepted fact that children are allowed to choose the color of their clothes, their toys and even they can easily decide about which school they want to enroll.

Furthermore, life in the past was more limited and people had to obey their parent’s decisions in different aspects, like marriage. In contrast, nowadays teenagers and young adults easily insist on things they are interested in from, lifestyle, their major of study or their career. Additionally, going to college and university abroad is one of the other changes that now is considered normal. consequently, youth are provided with a lot of opportunities in which there are free to make decisions and consult with their peers instead of their family and parents. Consequently, all these changes lead people to have a more independent life in which they practice decision-making on every given day. As a result, the more people get to make decisions, the better they are able to manage their life.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that in comparison with past, young people now living a freer life from their family attachments, and are able to make better decisions. The emergence of the internet has helped parents to raise their children more independently, on top of that altering lifestyles inevitably result in more independent people. Today's life offers a huge range of options like going to college abroad which provide the platform for self-supporting people.