Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past, parenting has played a pivotal in youth's growth. Under parents' guidance, young people learn to behave themselves, choose future careers and get married. While nowadays, everything has changed. Young people gradually plan their own lives and start to be independent. Therefore, some people hold the view that young people should make decisions about their lives more independently than before. I firmly support this idea and will explore the detailed reasons in the subsequent essay.

To begin with, parents used to make career plans for their children, including which major to take in the university, which position to ask for in the job market and so on. These kinds of intervention was mainly because in the past, young people only had little access to the society and they barely knew how the world operated. Under such circumstances, parents were willing to make decisions for children in case they might be frauded or trapped. However, young people get in contact with the community more and more via browsing some popular websites such as Twitter and Youtube. Besides, they have the alternatives to do some internship in the big names in order to quickly acquire the skills needed in the future. Therefore, young people are better able to decide their future careers on their own since they have more chances to know the world and make their judgement.

Furthermore, in ancient China, parents were also responsible for determining their childrens' marriage. In other words, young people in that era couldn't get married with whom they truly loved. This phenomenon could be attributed to the dogged cultural bias and customs. In parents' mindsets, the sole significance of their childrens' marriage is to bear offsprings so that their fortunes and cultures could be inherited. While in modern society, these sterotypes can hardly be endured and must be totally overturned. Nowadays, it is young people's freedom to start a relationship with whom they really care. The imposed restrictions on youth's marriage should be completely banned. It is also a trend that some fresh couples reject to raise a child and live happily. Young people have more freedom to determine their relationships and marriage.

In a nutshell, as the world is changing dramatically, some sterotypes and dogged customs should be abandoned, including parents' interfereing in young people's decision making. Young people have more alternatives and freedom to choose their own lives.