Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Some social structures have changed dramatically. One of these significant changes can be seen in the capability of young generation in making decision for their own lives. Young adults in the past depended too much on their parents to make decisions. However, from my vantage point, youngsters today are much more relied on themselves to make decisions due to their higher level on knowledge and modified social structures.

First and foremost, young generation today are better able to make decisions because they are more knowledgeable. There are lots of high schools, colleges, and universities available for young generation to study and acquire information. Even in remote places people have access to public education. This access helps these young adults to become familiar with a lot of concepts such as decision making. They can pose a problem, list down its merits and disadvantages, asses it profoundly, and then make a solid decision based on these facts. Conversely, Due to lack of proper academic education, young people in the past couldn't make separate decisions, and they depended on their parents to make simple or controversial decisions. They relied on their parents experience and expertise in making decisions. Recently conducted research from a prestigious university in my country, Iran, shows that youngsters obtaining knowledge in different fields are more potent in decision making. Thus, the more these young people become erudite, the better they are able to make decisions for their own destiny.

Furthermore, due to vivid changes in family and social structures, young adults are better in decision making. In the past, young people lived with their parents in the same residence or they worked with their parents in a family business. These strong ties attached them to their parents in different aspects including making decision. Most youngsters relied on their parents even in minor decisions such as buying clothes because their parents did not give them a proper opportunity to make a decision. This fact caused lack of self-confidence and experience in making decision. In contrast, young generation of parents allow their children to make decision for themselves even when they are a small child. For instance, they can choose their friends, watch their favorite programs, choose their desired major in the university, and so forth. These experiences help them to fortify the skill of being independent in decision making. Hence, these changes in the family structures not only helped young children to become more dependent, but also it put them on the right track to raise a more independent generation in the long run.

In a nutshell, although some people believe that young generation is somewhat depended on their families financially, and this dependency may bring about a weak generation in decision making, from my vantage point due to higher education and revised social structures young generation is more powerful in making decisions for themselves.