Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For everyday life, one has to make decisions about their life and it is critically important for young people to make precise decisions in their life. Personally, I agree that in comparison to the past, today young people are better able to make their decisions rather than taking them from their parents. I agree because of the following reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, it is the era of science and technology and it is much easier today to gather information about which one is good and which one is deleterious. A person who confronts the difficulty may able to collect information using internet technology. Internet is the accumulation of information and to make a decision they may be collect the related information from the internet or contacting with a person like who faces the same difficulty by using social media like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. In the past, it was not easy to do such tasks because the technology was not that advanced as it is today. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Last year it was my time to choose a university and choose a major for my undergraduate study. I was passing a hard time to select which course was suitable. My parents who were also backdated and not aware of my generation's demand could not help me a lot to overcome. But afterward, I contacted one of my seniors using the internet and discussed with him about various aspects of selecting the major and finally I was able to select the most demanded course and did well in my university.

Secondly, people nowadays like more freedom than in the past. Young people like to be free about the decision they make in their life. In older days due to the information gaps young people did what their parents were likely to do. Like if a man's father was a businessman then he wanted his son also become a businessman. But today, young people want their freedom about their life and how they lead it with others. My cousin's experience is a compelling example of this. Ten years ago when he completed his graduation he became an engineer but afterward, his father told him to join his small plastic industry to make it larger and widespread. Even though he didn't want to join, lack of freedom on those days made it difficult for him to disobey his father. In contrast, When my older brother graduated last year he made his decision on his own and didn't hear anyone about his career. If the lacks of freedom still exist, then it would be difficult for him to make his decision.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that today young people are much more able to make decisions about their own life. This is because they depend on technology rather than their parents and they want their freedom in making decisions and do not want to depend on their parents about making their decisions.