Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People, throughout their lives, face many different situations where they have to make decisions, and the younger they are, the more challenging it gets. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that nowadays, young people are better able to make decisions in their lives in comparison to the past. The reasons why I believe so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, in the past, because of the cultural and financial situations, young people were more dependent on their parents. Youngs always lived with their parents, and living alone was not really an option for them, especially for girls. Also, because the parents, more specifically the father, were the provider of the house and made money, he felt that he had to make all the decisions. As a result, youngs did not have so much independence and power to make their own decisions. That is why parents even chose their boys' or girls' spouses. My own example illustrates this reality. About fifty years ago, when my father was young, he lived with his parents. He worked with my grandfather in his shop too. He was dependent on his father so much that my grandfather decided on everything in his life. My grand forced my father to join the army and even chose a wife for him.

Second, the sources of information were very limited back then, and youngs did not know too much about essential matters in life. There was no internet, and books were almost rare. Their only source of valuable information was their parents. I mean, if they wanted to choose a job, they could not decide whether it would be good for them. They had to turn to their parents for advice, and their parents eventually said the last word. In contrast, nowadays, people can easily attain accurate and reliable information through various mediums. For instance, if someone wants to be a pilot, he or she does not get information from their parents. They get information from online sources and many available books. They even can find some real pilots on the internet and ask about the job from them.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that in the past, young people were more dependent on their parents in making decisions than today. I think it was because of financial and cultural situations. Also, there was not enough information for young people to make their decisions based on them.