Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Is it true that young people nowadays are better at making decisions about their own lives than it used to be? When it comes to this question, the answers differ considerably from individual to individual. Some argue that parents with more experience can provide considerable help, while others believe that children can make better choices without interference. Both of the opposite arguments appear to be convincing and stand to reason, yet my personal experience and personal observations have led me to conclude that young people are capable of making decisions on their own.

To begin with, there are sufficient resources on the internet for people to refer to. People with different specialties like to share their thoughts and suggestions to guide people's way. In short, it is so easy to obtain relevant information online in order to solve our problems.

Secondly, society has changed vastly in every aspect. Based on this consideration, our parents with older thoughts and skills may not be sufficient enough for us to depend on them. Also, the best thing about life is to explore the world by our selves, so we can try to be adventurous without thinking about the consequences.

Last but not least, the convention has changed during the evolution of time with the influence of western society. The concepts of our parents may not be the best for us to depend on, since they grew up in a more conservative world. In other words, their response may not be possible to solve upcoming problems.

In conclusion, given the reasons above, I strongly think that people are better at making their own decisions in modern society. That is not to say that the other opinions are completely out of merits. Nevertheless, I believe my points of view which were provided are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.