Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Decision making in the past is used to made by parents especially in Chinese society where seniority in a family matter severely. On the other hand, in the modern era, as the ideology of self-independence is currently spreading among young people, a lot of people believe that young folks are now gaining the right to make decisions by themselves. However, in my perspective, while I do agree with the statement that young people are now less dependent on their parents to an extent, I do think that it depends on scenarios as illustrated in the following paragraph.

First, I want to put attention to choosing schools. I think that the decision of choosing people’s schools is still rarely made by students regardless of the time. The reasons being that students are the younger generations in the category of “young people”, which parents tend to still see their children as unmatured instead of trusting them, therefore, it’s unlikely that students get a chance to choose their school. The other more practical reason is the fact that most students are certainly not financially independent, which means that their parents have absolute dominance when it comes to choosing a school because it is them who pays the tuition.

Second, with all that being said, there’s still some positive progress being made, that is, deciding marriage. In the past, where the interest of a family is on top of the interest of a person, it’s normal that marriage is decided even before a child is born because of some miscellaneous factors such as political reasons that might involve in the marriage. As for now, the sense of family and inheritance isn’t the mainstream anymore, young people such as princess Harry, who had quite the royal membership for marrying Megan, are taking back the right of deciding their marriage.

Lastly, there’s also something that is always being decided by young people, which is making friends. Although parents can control the friends their kids make, but only to an extent because it’s not feasible for parents to follow the kids all day in school just for this reason.

To wrap it up, I think the trend of the society is shifting towards the younger generation in terms of the right to make decisions for sure, but in its current state, I do believe that young people is still very dependent on their parents in some circumstances.