Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People are never satisfied with what they have; they always want something more or something different. Use specific reasons to support your answer.

Is it possible to be happy with what you have? Or will people always crave for bigger and better stuff and never be satisfied with what they possess? If I were to answer the question I would say that it is extremely difficult for people to be satisfied with what they have.

To begin with, no matter how special a thing or a situation is people tend to get bored with it. No matter how delightful they were when they got something after time past people find something that is more advanced and different. To illustrate this point with my own experience, when I was in middle school I always wanted a playstation3. I gathered small amount of money every day and it took me about 6 months to finally be able to afford the console. When I first bought the playstation3 it was so special not just because of its entertainment feature but also it showed my hard work to get it. However, after a couple of years past I played most of the games and I was getting tired of playing with it. At that point I was looking for a different game system to replace my playstation3. It is surprising how easily I got bored with my console considering what it meant to me. It just shows why people cannot be happy with one thing forever.

Moreover, people constantly compare with other people and if what they have or their situation is not better than others, people tend to starve for more. This happens with grades, money, appearance etc. Even if getting a 90 out of 100 is a great grade people are not satisfied with it because their friend got a 95. Even if one's salary is decent they want more if their co-worker gets more money than him or her. Then again even when people are in a similar condition compared to others they tend to envy what others have that they don't. Like one might have beautiful eyes, however, they still envy their friend's tall height. Just like the saying goes "The grass is greener on the other side of the fence".

To sum up, people cannot constantly have the same enthusiasm they have with what they have and they cannot stop comparing with others. Because of that people will never be satisfied with what they have in hand and will always look for something better.