Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, traveling has become one of the most essential parts of people’s lives. Many people think that traveling around their own country is better than having a trip to foreign countries. However, in my view, all generations could benefit from their journey around the world.

First of all, people who travel nation wide would have the opportunity to learn new things. When individuals travel, they would be able to learn the language of the country that they are going to. Learning how to speak a particular language, which identifies the country that you are visiting, it is a necessity because people need to communicate in order to be able to move around and understand effectively. On the contrary, if people do not learn the language, they might not understand anything, which would lead to frustration, instead of enjoying every moment of that journey. For instance, around ten years ago, I went to Paris. One of the reasons for my visit there was to learn about the country’s history. In addition, I had to learn the basis of the language before visiting the place, so that I could better understand the history. As a result of that, I expanded my knowledge and enriched my thinking in a foreign language. Overall, people who travel abroad would be able to benefit more by learning a new language.

Furthermore, traveling to foreign nations would help people to extend their social circle. People could have the chance to make new friends, whose perspectives are different because their culture is not the same as theirs. An example of this is my experience in Paris. During the time that I spent in Paris, I made new friends. They were different from me, which sparked my interest in building a good relationship with them. Although, I currently have many native friends, having the opportunity to expand my social circle while in a different nation is enriching. I was excited to surrender myself with people who thought not the same way as me. My new friendships exist as of today, and have made my life meaningful, colorful, and joyful. If I had never traveled to a foreign country, I would never have built new friendships. According to this, journeys that people take would help them to widen their friendship network throughout their lives.

In conclusion, this essay clearly demonstrates that people who travel abroad would benefit more than many of them who just travel to native places. One benefit is that individuals could learn a new language and widen their social network.