Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People communicate with each other less than in the past because of the popularity of television. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Communication is an important aspect of our life which allows us to share our thoughts, emotions and discuss our problems. In my opinion, the presence of television has thwarted our ability to communicate with each other. I feel this way because of two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, watching television together as a family is how most families spend time together in present day. The family members, after returning from work and school, gather around television to watch the latest shows or the sports channel. Their eyes stay glued to the television, instead of spending quality time together in which they can speak and discuss about how their day went. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I had been at middle school when my cousins became our neighbors. Television was not so much popular at that time. Everyday, after returning from school, we used to spend a lot of time together while communicating about our school events and talking about our friends. These occurrences of communication decreased as the popularity of television increased. I met with out cousins like before, but instead of sharing thoughts, we were busy watching television.

Secondly, even at gatherings of large number of people like friends or extended family at holidays, or co-workers at a house party, television hinders the communication flow among the guests. All the people at the gathering , one after another, usually gathers around the television to watch the latest sports event or the news channel. The interaction, usually comes to a halt as people start watching the television. For instance, my brother's last birthday party coincided with a major cricket match. The guests, after celebrating for few minutes, sat around the television to watch the match. The guests were so immersed into the match, they forgot these gatherings provide an ample opportunity to speak to people that we come across rarely due to our busy schedules.

In conclusion, interaction among people has deteriorated as a result of the popularity of television. This is because families at their free time and people at gatherings usually opt for watching television instead of communicating with each other.