Some people think that the government should use extra money to fund programs to improve the environment. Others think that it is better for the government to spend money to support artistic programs. Which option do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Government funding should be spent only after much thought and deliberation. In my opinion, the government should provide the extra money for funding programs which can help in enhancing the environment. This is mainly because of two reasons which I will elaborate on this essay.

To begin with, environment affects all the people of a country. The deterioration of environment will have a negative impact on the health and standard of living of the general people of the country. For the people of a country to prosper, it is crucial to maintain and improve the surroundings. Good environment will lead to better health and also improve work efficiency of the people which can contribute to general growth of the nation. For instance, the air pollution in Delhi

lead to shutting down of various institutions and cause lot of health problems for general public. The government, then, decided to put more funds towards environment-friendly subway and also planting of trees. As a result of this, the air pollution has decreased over the years and also, the occurrence of lungs disease has decreased. Consequently, there was no shutting down of institutions and there was no loss of work due to poor condition of the air.

Secondly, environment not only affects the people of the nation but also affects the flora and fauna of the country. It is the responsibility of a government to not only look after the people of the nation but also provide a safe environment for the plants and animals of the country. changing of climate, deforestation and increasing

of global temperature has affected many plants and animals and in some cases, leading to extinction of the plants and animals. For example, the number of Royal Bengal tigers has showed a major decline due to deforestation of Sunderbans. But this reducing number was reversed by providing more funds towards forestation and maintaining the areas of Sunderbans. The number of Royal Bengal tigers has slowly increased over the last few years. This shows that government fund can restore the condition of lot of species living in the nation.

In conclusion, government should contribute financially for the enhancement of environment. This is because enhancement of environment is necessary for the well-being of the general public and also, for the maintenance of the flora and fauna of the country.