Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much money on clothing to improve their appearance

The clothing industry and retail business are in continuous thriving nowadays. People nowadays are more concerned about their appearance more than ever. I strongly believe that people today spend a lot of money to look better. I feel this way for several reasons, Which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, In current days people judge each other by the way they look. It became part of the essential criteria to define a human. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Last month I applied for a dental assistant job at a clinic near my house. So I went to the interview wearing a suit that I purchased from an average-class shop store. Unfortunately, I did not get accepted to the job and the clinic manager made it clear to me that she did not like my normal suit.

A week later I purchased an expensive bran suit from a luxurious shop in the mall. So I went back again to the clinic. Surprisingly, the manager treated me in utterly different manners and offered me the job with a higher salary. For that reason, I believe spending more money helped me in my job and I got treated differently when I was wearing better clothes.

Secondly, the effects of social media and celebrities have affected the influenced more people to spend money on their clothes. For instance, Instagram models tend to wear all these extravagant brand designs. By wearing these clothes and posting their pictures on social media. A lot of teenagers especially girls are affected and their favorite celebrities. So they imitate what they do and wear in the hope to become like them in the future. I remember one model on Facebook called sally had advertised for a Gucci bag. The very next week all the bad with the same designs were sold out.

To sum up, I believe that people nowadays actually spend too much money in order to look better and to feel better about themselves. Because they are being judged by their appearance. In addition, they love to follow their role models and .