Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today put too much emphasis on personal appearance and fashion.

It is easier than before that people know about fashion and buy cloths. Some people may state that emphasis on personal appearance and fashion is necessary while others argue that people should put more attention on their characteristics like interests or specialty. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that people put too much emphasis on personal appearance and fashion for several reasons. On the other hand, we have other things more important than looks.

First of all, people spend too much money on fashion. For example, teenagers using their credit card to buy lots of cloths which may bring overdraft for them. Actually, the money they spend and the card they use are come from their parents. The problems are not only happened on the youngers but also the workers. To illustrate, one of my neighbors, Amy, who always over spend her salaries on popular cosmetics. The money she spends much more, the salaries she has to earn more. As a result, she doesn’t deposit any money in her account as an emergency use.

Second, personal appearance and fashion is the waste of resources. To be specific, there are many textile factories in Africa. However, the employees who work there did not earn enough money and the demand of plastic and textile increase strongly which make people buying clothes too easy and causing the waste of resources. In the end, it will be a vicious circle in the fashion industry.

Third, personal characteristics are more important than appearance. To be specific, even cloths and shoes can decorate people’s looks, but cannot decide their behavior. In addition, if we spend time on our interests and specialty, we can find our value in the lives. My sister who is confuse about her personality but after study aboard, she knows what can she do and she becomes a confident person after she come back from foreign country.

Definitely, some people may state that personal appearance and fashion can attract more friends and good identify. Nevertheless, outfits are changeable but inside character is a more crucial factor. To conclude, I agree with the statement that people today put too much emphasis on personal appearance and fashion for these reasons.