Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People in today’s world have become too dependent on automobiles. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today’s world is filled with scientific innovations and the automobile is one of the greatest inventions. The automobile really helps people to move from one place to another easily. I do not totally agree with the statement that people in today’s world have become too dependent on automobiles. I think there are three main reasons which strengthen my position in the subsequent paragraphs.

Therefore, we all had read that “necessity is the mother of invention”. From the invention of the wheel to the automatic vehicles researchers are just fulfilling the needs of human beings. The use of automobiles saves time and energy which we could use in creative and productive works. We use automobiles to go to the office or other places daily just to kill our exhaustion. It does not imply that we are dependable on automobiles, because we choose other options also in need.

Furthermore, today’s cities are larger and also dense with population. An individual can not travel 10 miles from home to office daily on foot because it makes him tired for all long days. Similarly, it is also not possible that he or she can afford a rented house or apartment too close to the office. There are so many reasons people use automobiles to commute. Sometimes people use vehicles for small distances also due to medical situations, so we can not say people have become too dependent on automobiles.

However, walking is good for health and everyone should walk daily. But the automobiles are not interrupting the habit of walking because it is one's own choice. If someone doesn't want to do any physical exercise then no one can force him or her, so we can not blame automobiles. In emergency situations or for daily routine work we choose automobiles to travel due to its need.

Conclusively, on the basis of the above discussed reasons we can say that people have not become too dependent on automobiles, it is just a machine which provides ease to use. Life and work will continue if we remove automobiles from the world.