Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment- doing things they like to do –rather than doing things they should do.” Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are a lot of controversy over this statement. Many people think that people spend much time to enjoyment, while others think that people spend much time to do things they should do. Personally speaking, I disagree with this issue and I believe that people spend their time to do things they should do because many people work hard to be successful, or simply don’t have time to enjoy, people enjoy to get concentration on work.

First of all, a lot of people want to be successful, to earn a lot of money, to have good career therefore they work really hard at their offices till midnight. To achieve their goals they can slave away at work doing their assignments. Also that is what many companies want from their employees. For example, as we know Japan has many big, successful, and famous companies which earn billions of dollars a year. They earn such money because they encourage their workers to work more efficiently and with willing to work even better by promising big salaries, recreational events once a month, and vacations at company’s expense. These concepts were developed many years ago and used in that way that people without knowing slave away at work.

Next, there is another viewpoint that some people simply don’t have time to enjoy anything. There are some occupations which require being on full alert all day such as police, firefighters, health care staff and other jobs. From my own experience I can give an example, my father is policeman and I rarely see him at home because he is so devoted to his work that he can work without having a rest. He is always at work, not at office but at places where committed crime takes place. One day when he took day off we were partying at a restaurant and one moment he rushed to go away, without thinking that we were having a party, because someone told him that somewhere was a situation. Definitely people who work at this occupation deserve public respect because they sacrifice their personal life for our benefit and safety.

Finally, from my perspective I think that spending time to enjoyment is also good as long as keep boundaries between too much pleasure and adequate pleasure and not get involved to this because people tend to get used to easy life, enjoyable life. These recreational events like playing football with co-worker, tennis, or even video games, watching movies can prevent people from losing creativity, concentration, appetite, and motivation. Also it can help to distract their mind from work, recover energy and have some better results in work environment.

When all is said and done, I believe that people aren’t wasting their time for pleasure but on the contrary they do things which they should do. I can say that a lot of people devote their most of their life, their time to success, to earn money, to peace, to our safety, to development of country and they deserve a little rest to enjoy whatever they wanted in their entire life.