Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “People learn things better from those at their own level-such as fellow students or co-workers-than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors”. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are a lot of people who feel strongly that we can learn more from people at our own level than from people at a higher level. While this may be true in limited circumstances, I feel that for the most part it is people above us, like our teachers and our bosses, who can teach us most in life. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, real-world experience is one of the most valuable sources of learning, and it is something that people above us have plenty of. Young people like myself are full of bright ideas and plans for the future, but our ideas are all hypothetical or based on assumptions instead of hard facts. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Following my graduation from university, I drew up plans to start a small software development firm. My plans were exceptionally detailed, and I was confident that my business would be a success. However, when I consulted with one of my former professors, his advice opened my eyes to the fact that my plan was missing key points. I had concentrated on all of the most exciting aspects of starting a business, but I had not given much thought to the more mundane details I would have to sort out, like how to rent office space or how to pay my taxes. His years of real world experience opened my eyes to such topics.

Moreover, people who are above us are more likely to actually be trained as educators, which means they can more effectively and efficiently convey lessons and instructions. A young person who is very bright and a master of his particular field of expertise may be unable to teach others about it if he lacks the knowledge of how to convey information to beginners. For example, several years ago I shared an introductory physics class with Philip, a good friend of mine. Philip excelled in all of his classes, and achieved particularly impressive grades in the sciences. One week when I was struggling in the class Philip offered to tutor me, so that I could keep up. Our tutoring sessions did not go well – try as he might, Phil was unable to help me understand even the most basic topics. In desperation, I visited our professor to seek assistance. To my surprise, she was able to correct my misunderstandings after only half an hour of conversation. It was not her depth of knowledge of the topic that permitted her to achieve this, but her training as an educator.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that we can learn more from individuals who are above us than we can from people on our own level. This is because older people tend to have more experience than younger people, and because they are more likely to have training in education and instruction.