Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “People learn things better from those at their own level-such as fellow students or co-workers-than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors”. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are a lot of people who feel strongly that we can learn more from people at our own level than from people at a higher level. Personally speaking, I think that for the most part it is people above us, like our teachers and our bosses, who can teach us most in life. I think this way for three reasons, which I will discuss in the following essay.

First of all, when you learn things from your friends or co-workers who are at the same level as you, how can you find your models of success or achievement? People at the same level with you have only the same experience with you. You do not have any ideas so it will be difficult to define what the accomplishment for your activities is. There is an example, you are learning the efficient running form with your friend who has the same knowledge and experience with you. Then you are not sure about your form is really okay or not. However, there are no people who can run with perfect form so you and your friend can not correct your forms. Therefore you cannot improve yourself. It might be waste of time.

Moreover, people who are above us, at a higher level are more likely to be trained as educators, which means that they can more effectively and efficiently convey lessons and instructions. A young person who is very bright and a master of his particular field of expertise may be unable to teach others about it if he lacks the knowledge of how to convey information to beginners. For example, several months ago my best friend Diyorbek who majors in mathematics asked me a favor to help him with one of the math classes which he didn’t understand. So I accepted his request and wanted to help him. But to my surprise, after my class my friend didn’t understand anything and we tried to teach much harder in an effort to get the whole lesson. But after two hours I even lost my mind after these futile attempts. Then I realize that I lack in conveying my thoughts to my friend.

Finally, real-world experience is one of the most valuable sources of learning, and it is something that people above us have plenty of. Young people like myself are full of bright ideas and plans for the future, but our ideas are all hypothetical or based on assumptions instead of hard facts. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Following my graduation from university, I drew up plans to start my own small business. My plans were exceptionally detailed, and I was confident that my business would be a success. However, when I consulted with one of my teachers who had his own business in producing papers sheets, his advice opened my eyes to the fact that my plan was missing key points. I was concentrated only on all of the most exciting aspects of starting a business, but I had not given much thought to the more specific details that I would have to, like how to rent office space or how to pay my taxes or how to hire employees. His years of real world experience opened my eyes to such topics.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that we can learn more from individuals who are at a higher level than we can from people on our own level. This is because people at our own level cannot learn from each other, older people tend to have more experience than younger people, and because they are more likely to have training in education and instruction.