People learn things better from those at their own level-such as fellow students or co-workers- than from those at a higher level, such as teachers and supervisors.

Do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the statement that people learn things better from those at their own level. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, some people might argue that they could learn more and better from their peers. They hold that since they spend more time with their fellow students or coworkers than they do with their managers or supervisors, they could, as a consequence, pick up valuable knowledge, ask whatever questions and improve their skills. In addition, some individuals posits that work colleagues or schoolmates could explain information in a simpler way than professional teachers or experienced bosses in a workplace could do.

However, I believe those arguments lack coherence in many ways. First of all, Mentors are more experienced in their field. They have completed the same task thousands of times and each time they had an opportunity to realize that there is a better way to do it. In other words, they gained all the tips and tricks about a certain process. As a result, they are more familiar with any problems or issues that might arise. For instance, teachers had to deal with so many questions that their students have asked during all their education careers. Thus, they know how the learners think and they can provide the perfect replies and answers to their students. By the same token, a senior employee in an organization is well-rounded and better able to train new staff since through trials and errors, he or she got to master all the information about running machines, or the right sequences for specific procedures.

Moreover, most people will not be serious enough about learning when they are getting the information from their friends or same-level people. Therefore, they will be less focused on developing their abilities. Also, they will take longer time to learn than if they acquire the information from higher levels individuals whose responsibility is actually to spread the knowledge. Furthermore, some people might feel uncomfortable when their pals try to give them instructions or bring to their attention any mistakes. For example, some clerks in a firm may hold a grudge against their coworkers when those coworkers rebuke them for errors. On the other hand, authorized team members will be welcomed to give orders and take control of the workplace or the classroom in case of teachers.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that people learn better from their colleagues. This is mainly due to the fact that experience plays a crucial role in the quality of how people impart the information or knowledge they have to others. Needless to say that a formal environment will be more encouraging for learners than an informal one.