Decisions can be made quickly, or they can be made after careful thought. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The decisions that people make quickly are always wrong. Use reasons and specific examples to support your opinion.

I disagree with the opinion that the decisions that people make quickly are always wrong. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, decision making depends on how much time we have on hand. When we have a lot of time available, we could try to make the best of it by weighing the pros and cons and by careful deliberation in order to choose the best option. However, sometimes, we have to act swiftly in no time. Therefore, we have to consider the amount of time available and the urgency required. if we had enough time and we did not exploit it, the decision would be premature and the probability for an unsuccessful choice would dramatically increase. On the other hand, if we needed to decide quickly on an issue but we preferred to move slowly with the process, we could end up with unfavorable ramifications. All in all, we cannot judge the appropriateness of decisions according to how much time taken to reach those decisions. Instead, we should look into the scarcity or the abundance of time that is at hand for the decision maker and whether or not this time period was carefully utilized.

On top of that, the type of decision is another factor. Some decisions are required to be made instantaneously. On the contrary, other decisions are better made after exploring all the sides and possible consequences. For instance, an on-duty police officer might need to decide whether or not to fire his weapon to neutralize a threat to himself and/or other team members. this critical moment demands an alert mind that is capable of acting at the blink of an eye and in such a situation, there is no need for careful thinking. In fact, any delay in the decision making process could have unintended outcomes, for example, risking the safety of oneself or others. In contrast, a decision about which university one should join is a more relaxed process since we have plenty of time to research the internet and ask for advice from friends and relatives. In this case, taking our time to make a decision is more beneficial to arrive at the correct decision than just hurrying things up.

To conclude, we cannot argue that all quick decisions are bad or vice versa since each incident is unique and many factors deserve evaluation before landing on a final say