Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The modernity has brought uncountable improvements in many areas of our life. Whether the contemporary lifestyle is better than the lifestyle of our ancestors, though, it is a matter of intense debate. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that the lifestyle that we enjoy nowadays has innumerable advantages compared with any other in the past. this opinion is based on two main reasons that will be analyzed thoroughly below.

Firstly, the internet is a factor that leans the balance in our favor. The internet offers a connectivity and an efficiency as never before. For example, When I was studying for this test, was common that my wife calls me to remind me that I had to pay a bill or to buy some stuffs for the house. To make a long history short, without leaving the desk, I could solve these issues just using the online app of the store and paying the bills in my provider website. Consequently, I did not lose time doing those activities and could come back to focus on achieving a solid preparation. Contrarily, a few years ago, I would have had to spend hours to solve those problems.

Secondly, the enhancements reached in areas like medicine make us live healthier and more comfortable. Today exist many curable diseases that a few decades before were a sentence of death, and other that at least are tractable. A convincing example of this is lung cancer. it is true that it is not considered curable yet, but we have the possibility to count with medicines and treatments which increase the life expectancy and its quality. Another example is the transplants of heart, which was unthinkable in our grandfathers’ time, and nowadays, not only save the patient’s life, but also makes him socially active and productive again.

In summation, I am of the opinion that there are few doubts about the superiority of our life compared with that lived for our predecessors. this is due to the access that he have in the medical area, and the facilities that offer technologies like the internet.