Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

After pondering on the given statement for a while, I feel that people are spending less time on their personal enjoyments and more time on their activities due to the presence of though competitive environment in both academic as well corporate world.

In today's era of cut-throat competition, many working adults are overwhelmed with the plethora of office work. In order to hold their jobs, it is essential for these people to work beyond their comfort zones. As a consequence, these individuals are left with very little time to puruse their hobbies. One of my cousin would be an apt example to elucidate my viewpoint. He is working in the one of the most famous multi-national company. However, he is burderned with so much of the work activities due to which he is forced to stay back in the office until late hours. Thus, he is not able to spend quality time with his family. As illustrated above, the fear of job security is compelling many people to work for late hours thereby depriving them to carry the activities of their interest.

Furthermore, even students are not spared by cut-throat compeition. As recruiters are expecting scores of skills even from the freshers, they are busy in enhancing their skills and hence abstained from pursuing their personal hobbies. My younger brother is studying mechanical engineering. Due to the inexorable growth of digital technologies, he has to take extra classes for coding which leaves him with hardly any spare to pursue the activies of his interest.

On the top of it, my country's dwindled economy has led to substantial rise in inflation with no growth in our annual income. In order to fulfill the basic necessities, we have to do more than one job. For example, I am working as a consultant in an investment firm. However, to suffice the needs of my family, I have to additional wor for coaching classes for additional source of income.

Therefore in my eyes only handful of the people would be able spend more time on their personal hobbies whereas the majority of the people are spending more time working in their offices or towards the academics goals due to cut-throat competition in the market.