Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A person should never make an important decision alone. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

“using other’s opinion is the best method for education” Tara Westover, Educated, 2018. Although some people believe that a person can make a decision alone, others think that he or she should not do that. As far as I am concerned, making a decision is a convoluted, critical decision, hence people must use others’ opinions because it reduces the possible drawbacks, mitigates the public contentions, as well as analyzes the opinion deeply. In the following, I am inclined to put forth some arguments to support the position.

First and foremost, utilizing others’ opinions and experiences reduces the possible drawbacks and makes the choice accurately. Because everyone has a different attitude toward a subject, it helps people to identify the possible drawbacks, foible points, or obscure angels to solve them effectively. Indeed, it helps people to make a genuine decision and reduce the negative consequences. Thus, using others’ experiences broadens people’s horizons toward a better selection.

Another thing coming to the mind is that making important decisions alone will put the people on the brink of jeopardy, especially public contentions. For instance, many dictators make an important decision alone which influences on millions of people’s lives. As an illustrated case, in ancient Egypt, pharaohs, who were making critical decisions, caused public rebellions which ruined the empire. Thus, in some cases leaders should pay attention to others’ opinions.

Last but not least, paying attention to other’s opinion and then making a decision can increase people’s self-confidence. In other words, the people sense that they considered the subject thoroughly and their decision is an appropriate one. From sociologists points of view, this decision will determine the people’s strategy to do their work. For instance, in Master’s thesis defendant course, many students give their opinions about the thesis, it will help the research team to apply the research effectively. Hence, using others’ opinions is beneficiary.

In the nutshell, making a decision alone is problematic and increase the future failures. If people had used others’ opinions, societies would have not encountered various problems.