Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A person should never make an important decision alone. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It goes without saying that the decision-making process has become an inseparable part of our daily life. Its significance ranges from trivial issues as the choice of daily dress to life-altering decisions including marriage. One of the heated debates in this realm is whether it is an intellectual thought to make critical decisions alone. Although there might be some different perspectives, it is my conviction that seeking an opinion of people having rich experiences is the best way. I will support this view with arguments in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, taking a decision can directly or indirectly affect our family members or people beyond our family. Hence, it is advisable for us to consult experts about the deciding issue especially when it comes to business, political or environmental issues. This example makes clear my view is that in the seventies and eighties of the last century, some local governments in east China constructed many chemical plants to ease the development of economy without hearing the advice of environmental experts. Consequently, the wastes and gases discharged from these plants have resulted in serious pollution to the local environment. Therefore, these such decisions have adverse impacts on all aspects of people’s lives and people suffer the consequences of the unwise decisions made by the governments.

Moreover, humanity has not infinite insight and knowledge. In other words, it takes a lot of time to gather all the necessary information one needs to take an informed decision. Thus, the decision-making process is slowed down. But if a person asks experts for their advice in the matter of deciding issue, taking advantage of using other people knowledge and experiences allow them to save a lot of time. In this way, they can be some steps ahead of others. For instance, when I was a university student, I worked on my thesis which was in the last steps. Unfortunately, I faced a problem in my numerical simulation at that time. There was not enough time to resolve this problem since I needed to defend my master thesis before spring. So I talked to my friends to help me with my situation I countered, and their suggestions were very helpful. Had I not talk about the issue I would not have ended my thesis on time.

In conclusion, we face certain situations or dilemmas which demand decision-making. It might put at stake all aspects of people’s lives directly or indirectly. Based on the ideas that were presented above, it is always better to follow the advice of our experienced people to make sure that our decision lies in the best interests of ourselves and people around us. Besides this benefit, it also leads to saving a lot of time on information searching.