Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Recent advances in technology, particularly the advent of computers have revolutionized human life. One of the manifestations of these developments is computer games, which, similar to many other phenomena, have their advantages and disadvantages. In my view, if they are played in moderation, their benefits outweigh their drawbacks.

Computer games have several demerits for children, some of which are as follows. First, if played excessively, they can be a waste of time and energy, because there is virtually no end to these games. The time-consuming nature of such games encourage the players, children in this case, to play to excess, which is to the detriment to their education. Second, as these games are sedentary work, those who play too much become, as one of my students once said, “Joystick Potato” and lose their physical health, and in some severe cases they become obese. Another problem these games cause for children is that the players usually play alone, leading to their becoming anti-social individuals who cannot normally socialize with others in the society as adults. Last but not

least, many of these games provoke violence and aggression among the children who play them frequently. This is because they erroneously think that the real life looks like these games.

If we consider computer games in an impartial way, we can realize that they have quite a few advantages for children as well. Compared with many sports and games, which are really costly, computer games are quite economical but amusing and full of excitement for a broad spectrum of people, ranging from children to the elderly. Thanks to the nature of these games that call for quick reactions, the players often have agile minds, making them able to make prompt decisions in the real life while they are driving, doing sports, and even facing an emergency situation. Apart from this, they can learn strategic planning and teamwork through many of these games such as in Clash of Clans, which elegantly develops these two skills. Some of these games truly raise children’s creativity and imagination, the absence of which strongly felt among many young adults who have not been into such games when they were a child.

In conclusion, computer games have a great number of advantages and disadvantages. Personally, I do believe that the positive points of them outnumber their drawbacks. Our children should be wise enough to benefit from the merits of them and do away with their demerits.