Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I think decision on whether permitting children to play video games is important issue to be considered and thought carefully. The age that children are into these kind of games is very crucial in their learning and growing process. Some parents surely are preventing their children to play computer games and the other are not. In my perspective playing video games can have very serious positive effects on children for two important reasons.

The main reason is that it will enhance their creativity and problem-solving skills. Whenever they play these games they encounter with different kind of problems in each episode that they have to solve it through various methods in order to get to the next level. For example i can remember that in my childhood i was playing a video game (though i cannot remember the name). it was a really mind-blowing mysterious game that i had to find different objects and combine them correctly so that i could open the door to escape from the room i was captured in. Each day and on each level i was concerned with challenging problems that i was trying to find a solution for and this really helped to enhance that part of my skills. Even tough, each level was harder had more complicated problems to be solved but i was learning to do them easier. As it can be deduced from my experience i would not have my problem-solving skills empowered if i was not playing computer games.

Another reason is that it fosters multi-tasking skills in them. Children have to be aware of different scenes that is taking place in the game at each moment simultaneously while they are playing video games. As a support of this claim, once i was watching a video on TED and the lecturer who was a scientist, was narrating her experiences and researches in this field. She mentioned that a lot of researches have revealed that 90 percent of children who plays action video games especially in a group have significantly higher levels of multi-tasking skills. As you can see, computer games have a positive effect on children as well.

In sum, though some may oppose my opinion, computer games are very beneficial for children. Either to enhance their creativity or to foster their multi-tasking skills. Though, every parent should let their children to play with these kinds of games to some extent.