Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Primary school teachers should not give children (aged 5 10) assignments for more than 30 minutes, because there are enough lessons to learn in regular school classes.

Nowadays, the best way that primary school children should be taught has become a controversial issue among people. While there are some people maintaining that doing loads of assignments has detrimental effects on children, there are others holding the view that teachers should give children more than 30 minutes of assignments. As far as I am concerned, teachers should limit the amounts of homework that they give to their pupils in that not only have children enough time to improve their skills but also children will maintain their interest.

The first reason which should be stated here is that childhood is the best time for children to develop social skills and find their real talents and interests. Playing allow children to communicate with other children or even adults so that they can improve their social and communication skills through play. Moreover, they have enough time to participate in some sport and art programs. Therefore, they will find their talents and fields they like more. Take the case of a student who spends most of his time doing school assignments, he does not enough free time to participate in social or sports activities. As a result, there is not an opportunity for him to find that he has an astounding ability in gymnastics, besides, he will not able to learn communication skills. Therefore, in the future, he will be confronted with plenty of dilemmas.

Furthermore, doing a myriad of homework is a boring duty. Thus, students will lose their motivation to try hard for school. On the other hand, primary pupils school have limited physical and mental abilities. Being concentrate for long hours is not practical for them. Similarly, they cannot sit for long hours to do some assignments. It can cause some physical difficulties in their bodies. For instance, if teachers oblige children to do a plethora of homework each day, they will lose their motivation to continue their studies. Many struggles will be happened to persuade them go to school and they will not like it.

To summarize, teachers should not give plenty of assignments to children because they need free time to play and they will lose their interest in to school. It is highly recommended that schools provide some criteria for their teachers and urge them to follow them.