Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, continuing studies has become a controversial issue among people. While there are some people maintaining that pupils should continue their studies after they finish their schools, there are some others holding the view that it is better they have a break and then start their university. As far as I am concerned, it is beneficial for students to take a rest after they finish their schools in that not only can they get a plethora of experience during this time but also they can use this break to rest from boring they of schools.

The first reason which should be stated here is that students who decide to go to the universities need a majority of experience to help them to select the best major they are interested in and have a better performance in the university. Taking some years off the schools and universities will help them to become familiar with themselves more and identify their true interest. In addition, they will learn a lot through work in places and communicate with different persons or travel around the world. In fact, working and traveling helps children to improve their skills such as communication skills, time management, and so on. Take the case of a software engineer student who worked in a company as an internship before attending a university. Without doubt, he chooses this major through identification he gained from himself when he worked in the company. So, he will be much more interested than other students who choose this major without knowing about it. Moreover, he learned how to communicate with other persons and how to use his time more productively. As a result, he will be much more successful.

Furthermore, students need some rest after years of studies. Taking a break will help them to become refresh and continue their studies more productively. Researches have shown the importance of motivation in people’s performance. Undoubtedly, when young people have to study for long years without entertainment or interrupt, they will become frustrated. Thus, their performances are affected considerably. For instance, my brother did not go to the university instantly after he had finished his high school. He decided to take a break and go to a volunteer trip in the Africa. After a year he came back and went to the university. He became really motivated to study and try very hard. He said that that trip and what he had experience gave him a great motivation to become successful and help people who live there. Therefore, his performance was considerably different from other classmates.

To summarize, taking a break between the last year of high school and the start of the university is really beneficial for students. This is because they can gain plenty of experience and rebuilt their interest.