Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, due to the improvment of science and technology, people need to access to internet in order to ge all their tasks done. and one can cast doubt on the important role of government in this procedure and providing good opportunity. The controversial question which arises here is whether, the government shoul offer Internet access withou any cost or not. When it comes to me, it is my firm conviction that it is the better course of action to offer Internet access at cost. To support this, there are several reasons two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following.

First and foremost, the most prominent reason which comes to my mind is that, all citizens have the right to benefit from services which are provided for them from the government. Although, nowadays, most activities get done fater and in an efficient way by using Internet, there some people which never use Internet; as a result the situation will not be fair for all people in a country. As an illustration, take the example of me and my grandmother. My grandmother does not have smartphone, and also she never spends her time surfing on Internet, on the other hand, I spend most of my time chatting with friends online, and also I participate in many online workshops. having access to free Internet benefit me in a large aspects, but my grandmother never gain any advantages from that.

Furthermore, another noteworthy reason that should be taken into account is that having access to Internet without any payment can have bad effects on some people, especially youngsters. Young people spend a significant part of their time on social media and online chatrooms, if they be forced to pay for their cosumption, they will be more appreciable and careful. In consequence, they can save their time and spend on other practical activieties such as reading books and articles, which are more beneficial for their professional and personal lives. Only with considering cost, it is possible to prevent the dire consequences of having access to Internet.

Needless to say, having access to free Internet is beneficial for some businesses, and can be considered as a financial support for them from the government, and also help them to stay at business. But, its disadvantages gains the weight and it is more prudent course of action to provide citizens with Internet access at cost.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that, offering Internet access to all citizen at no cost has some drawbacks and is better to not be provided. The fact that this prodecure would not be fair for all poeple to help them have better lives, coupled with its bad consequenses on the some people and wasting their time, is the reason which strengthens my claim.