Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

From a general point of view, nowadays, many technological developments have accelerated and facilized individuals' life and beneficiated them with many advantages. Internet is the hallmark of recent developments which has often provoked many discussions. Some people keep endorsing the fact that accessing internet should be free for everyone whereas others dismiss this claim. It is my firm conviction that governments should provide gratitude internet for all citizens. In what follows, I aptly elucidate on what rationales my perspective is based on.

To commerce, all services such as bank, educational, commercial services and so on have been performing online according to the governments decision. In other words, governments and the fast developing condition of the community has given rise to the virtually utterly online services. Therefore, since whole governmental institutions are operating through internet platforms and citizens require internet for even rudimentary tasks such as paying electricity bills, the government is responsible to provide internet at no cost, similar to other civil services. It is indisputable that citizens annually pay noticeable amount of tax which is contemplated for such civil services.

The second pivotal reason that bears in mind is that free access to internet directly contributes to the communities' literacy and knowledge level. To put in a vivid picture, people can have fast access to a wide variety of recent research about each subject coming to mind, the latest news and so on through a simple searching. Therefore, as soon as a question occupies one's mind, he can find the answer without demanding asking an expert or putting time aside to buy a pertinent book. Take my own experience as a compelling example. When I was student in a city other than my hometown, I was always in hurry to make a meal for myself. Since I had no experience of cooking, hardly could I cook without a solicitation of data or help. Therefore, I was thoroughly dependent on others to give me a hand or making a phone call to ask my mother the recipe. In fact, internet was the mere help for me which I could easily find various food recipes by it, even when there was no one around and I wanted a new and special meal. Maybe, I had never eluded to cooking and acquired this skill if it was not because of free accessible internet.

To put in a nutshell, there are persuading reasons to substantiate my viewpoint that government should provide free internet for citizens. This is because not only all the official and governmental tasks are dependent on internet and accomplished online, but also free internet access help to improve the communities' overall level of knowledge.