Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The advent of internet have had a profound impact on people's daily life. This influence is so immense that without access to the internet we might not be able to do the most superficial tasks. Personally, however, I believe people must pay for their internet. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following sentence.

To begin with, the analogy between building roads and internet access is so wrong. Constructing some superficial facilities to enhance public welfare services of cities is one of the very basic duties of cities' municipalities, and governors are responsible to fulfill it due to the taxes they get from citizens. However, there are some other indispensable services which people still have to pay for them, such as electricity, water, gas or oil. These services are highly dependent on limited natural resources and we should be careful with spending them. One thing that most people don't know about internet is that internet is also a limited resource. The bandwidth that people purchase from different internet companies is limited and there are heavy fines for those who use more than their dedicated bandwidth. Thus, everyone has to have their own specific data band and they have to pay to keep it for themselves, like electricity or gas.

Another significant reason is that although internet have made a great progress during last couple of decades, there are still a great number of engineers and researchers who put effort and time to make it better. As I said before radio bandwidth, which conventional internet works on, is a limited resource, and telecommunication engineers do great researches to optimize user's traffic and make the best use out of limited bandwidth. Plus, researchers have been trying to improve internet access and give services to the most remote regions on earth. For instance, Starlink company is running a huge project and use satellites to cover the whole globe and give high speed internet access to its users all around the world. It is not hard to guess how much fortune each of these researches and projects might cost for their investors. Thereby, considering all these endeavor, time and money people put to make living easier for people, the cost we pay for internet services is not unreasonable anymore.

In conclusion, in developed countries people have to pay for the services they get and internet is not an exception. Internet is a limited natural resource and researches about it costs a lot of money, so paying for it is not unfair.