Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The internet has turned into an inseperable part of our lives. We exploit its advantages in every aspect of our daily lives. Although, it delivers so many advantages and has turned to an essential part of our lives, some argue that the governments should take initiative to obstruct its usage. Although there might be several advantages to free provision of internet to the citizens, I believe that internet should not be made free by the governments.

The first challenge that comes to mind is the cost of the free provision of internet. There are several costs to providing internet to the people such as the infrastructure or the costs of services. Governments will likely charge all the citizens for it while some will still not use them. For instance, they will impose higher taxes on other incomes to compensate for the money. This will not be fair to those who do not use the internet.

In addition to that, the government will likely apply techniques for surveilance of the people through the internet. Since they are the providers, they will be under pressure to observe what people do with that. It is obvious that governments are trying to use any tools they posses to have absolute control on their people and a free internet provides them with one.

Lastly, this will fascilitate the misuse of the internet by the younger generation. Although, internet has so many beneficial sources to study and educate people, it also contains materials that are harmful and children should be strictly supervised while using it. Nowadays, parents overlook the consumption of internet by children by blocking certain sites on the server or choosing service providers that block harmful sites. If there is free internet, children can access internet from everywhere and can misuse it.

All in all, although there are several advantages to the internet, but it is not a smart idea to make it free for everybody. The amount of costs that is involved with it, the likelihood of it being exploited by the government, or misused by the children are among the reasons why it should be restricted. Yet, it does not mean that governments should not fascilitate the usage of internet for those who will rightfully use it.