When a new technological device becomes available, some people buy it right away; others wait until many have adopted it. Which view do you agree with?

The development of technology has been exponential in the recent years. When people are getting used to the technologies that they use at the moment, new ones are being developed and introduced to the market. It is very common that some people rush to access the technologies that others have not yet adopted. Though, it might be tempting to be among the first ones who access certain technologies but in my opinion, one should wait before using them. The reduction in prices and objective feedbacks are the main reasons for that.

The first issue that comes to mind regrading new technologies is the price. It is clear that when a new technology is introduced due to the high demand, its price is relatively high. Yet by the passage of time and when more people have adopted those technologies, the prices fall down drastically. Since prices are one of the key factors in selecting any product, waiting for the deductions in price is logical. Additionally, one can also buy the second-hand products which have a drastically lower price.

Secondly, after the introduction of a novice technology, one should wait until the true essence of it is revealed. Marketing has been a great tool in introducing products in this era. Most companies use deceptive techniques to convince people to buy their products. Although, at times these marketing campaigns can be truthful in introducing the products, mostly they are only targeted to decieve the targeted customers. Thus, waiting until other people have used these technologies and getting feedback from objective users can be helpful in deciding whether we need to use them.

To conclude, it is not important that we are the first ones who adopt certain technologies and products but it is important that we use them properly. We should not rush to access those but we should first consult those who have used them and weigh on the fact that whether they can elevate our quality of life. One other criterion that should be considered is whether they can provide qualities that are proposed by the provider.