Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Indubitably, in this modern and sophisticated world, the internet plays an incredibly important role in human lives; Accordingly, what is beyond dispute is the endless debate regarding whether governments are supposed to provide it to citizens at no cost or not. In this context, some people cling to the notion that the internet should be free, nevertheless some others stand by the viewpoint that there should be charges for internet usage. I, for one, concur with the latter notion. I hold this position based on a twofold rationale, which I shall expound upon in the ensuing discourse.

To commence with, admittedly, the internet is widely used as one of the basic requirements for living. To be more concrete, living without the internet is impossible just like living without electricity or gas. On the other hand, it is important to consider that governments are not providing these utilities for free, hence they can make money to provide them. As a result, not getting money in order to provide utilities may cause usage and waste. My own personal experience serves as a highly compelling and noteworthy illustration of this phenomenon. I used to live in a country, where the internet was free. We used to download everything or stream easily. This created a habit of even downloading stuff that we did not need. This leads to an Internet yearly budget yearly increase for the government due to high consumption. After my immigration to the United States, I had to pay for my consumption and could not just download everything at no charge. I learned to utilize the internet as much as I need. I found out this country has a specially dedicated budget for the internet and uses the rest on other stuff like making the cities more convenient to live in. Had my country charged residents for internet, they would have been able to save some money to invest in cities.

Another key point to consider is that people are not using the internet in the same amount. To put it in a more vivid picture, Some just use the internet for regular daily net social media surfing, while others utilize it for streaming and other things that need high-speed internet. My own experience can drive this notion home. My father just uses the internet for using online maps and some surfing on the net. Despite this, I am using it for movie streaming and making videos, and uploading them for my carrier. Ergo, I need much more speed than my father. Consequently, we can pay for what we use and save the rest. With free internet, I would have used much more government money than my dad which is not fair.

In summary, after carefully considering all the aforementioned arguments, I am firmly convinced that governments' charging residents for the internet is more beneficial. This is because not only do citizens regulate their usage to their needs, but also people with different usage, are using the governmental budget more fairly.