Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

The Internet in today's world is not only a medium for amusement but also a necessity. I genuinely believe access to the Internet, and free information should be considered as a human right. The Internet facilitates the propagation of information and news, which will inform society about the surrounding events. Moreover, it will help many to do their daily tasks efficiently. These daily activities constitute a broad range of financial transactions to smart homes management.

To begin with, in modern-day society, access to uncensored news is considered invaluable. The more informed community is, the wiser decisions it will take. I think governments, which are not autocratic, should provide free access to the Internet for their citizens. For example, in Iran, access to the Internet, for most websites and services, is blocked. Consequently, many people use untrusted sources of information in order to obtain fresh news. This led to some chaos that unstabilized Iran's economic and political systems.

Furthermore, the Internet can be conducive to how people can carry out their daily actives. For example, they can use the Network to purchase goods or take an online course from their universities. I can recall an experience that is a compelling example of this. During Iran's Internet blackout, which happened around a year ago while there was an ongoing protest, many services were shutdown. As a result, many businesses suffered from the consequences. The impact was that sever that those businesses couldn't financially survive even after the blackout. Additionally, many people were not able to do their primary tasks. For instance, at that time, I wanted to registry the TOEFL iBT test, but due to the blackout, I was not able to transfer the money oversea. Consequently, it has ruined my plan for applying to a US university.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that the Intenet should be free and considered as a fundamental human right. Access to the open Internet should even have mentioned in the constitution. I think the Internet will provide a source for news and information dissemination, a necessity in modern life. Besides that, it will soothe the way we live and form our society in a better way.