Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s society, there is fierce competition for success and the strict rules society reflect this. Strict rules are effective when they assess young peoples’ studies, works and characters, outside this society is tolerant about the lifestyles chosen by young people.

It is true that societies today have high expectations for young people because they are the future of the world and society will have to rely on them in future. Take young doctors as an example, if they do not learn well in school, they will not be able to help patients, thus failing in their duty of care. If the medical students do not work hard, then they will not become able doctors. Not only doctors, but also so many other occupations need responsible, hard-working and warm-hearted young people.

Although societies have strong requirements for the younger generation’s characters, society will not look down on you for wanting to be a driver, a cleaner or a gardener. Also, you can see so many people fighting for people who are underprivileged. Times have changed so that there is equality between different people, in spite of earlier beliefs. In the present, women also have the rights to vote and the right to equal pay for equal work. But in the past, so many women were not allowed to work out of their house. It is easy to say it is the best of times, but no one would think it is the worst of times.

The strict rules society has for young people are indispensable parts of life, and they ensure a better future and more tolerant society for those young people who are different from others.