Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As society has changed at an unprecedented rate, the importance of the rules for young people has been widely debated. Some people claim that those rules are too harsh on young people, while others believe that those restrictions can actually benefit them to some extent. After deeply deliberating such a problem, I firmly believe that the rules that society expects young people are not strict at all.

First of all, the rules can help improve young people' s performances and abilities. With those regulations, young people maintain their behavior and head to the right paths. However, in contrast, if those rules did not exist, then the young can gradually get lost in the pursuit of their dreams. I am a vivid example of this. When I was in high school, I got rather rebellious and did not want to study. However, with the rules on behavior in my school, I was taught by my teachers to not behave badly and also helped me to convert my thoughts. Eventually, I was back in track and never did those behaviors again.

Secondly, due to the development of society, the rules nowadays have lessened. Older people are now more open-minded to let young people make mistakes. Moreover, people recently see the mistakes as stepping stones towards success. They believe young people can gradually learn from the faults they make. Here comes a concrete example. My dad always claims that because of his failure in his first investments, which made him lose a huge amount of fortune, that made him keep in mind to be careful when making decisions. And for now, he has succeeded in his career.

Last but not least, young people nowadays have their own interpretations of the rules of society. They may not consider the rules as their burden but their motto to help them face the difficulties they encounter. For instance, some words are often talked by older people, which may make us feel dull and stressed, but when we look from the other side, those words may seem to be encouraging.

All in all, given the reasons above, I definitely disagree that the rules that society expects young people are too strict. That is not to say other opinions are out of merits. Nevertheless, I believe that my points of view are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.