Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people might claim that the rules these days are severly harsh on young people. However, I believe that due to certain circumstances, such as being able to access any type of information that may be inappropriate to children and having multiple attractions that is detrimental to their developement, rules should be strict. The detail to the reasons I will present will be elaborated in more detail below.

First of all, since technology advanced and electronical devices such as mobile phone and computer have been developed, children are fully exposed without any protection to diverse information. It has become too easy for them to access information that are highly inappropriate and may interfere with the development of their personality and perspective. Some statstics claim that children are becoming desensitized to sexual and violent contents and even imitate what they have learned. Due to this, the crime rate of teenagers being involved in sexual harrassment such as rape have increased exponentially. Because children are still in the process of fully developing moral standards and perspective, they are susceptible to information that are corrupted. To prevent this, rules should force children in accessing inappropriate information in order to prevent them from being developed in a wrong way.

Similarly, unlike the past, there are multiple compelling attractions such as video games, which can affect children in a detrimental way. In the past, there was no need for the society to place strict rules on chilren because there weren't any fun activities that could cause harm. However, nowadays, with the development of video games, children easily get addicted to such games. Children are able to feel some sort of achievement and happiness during playing video games because unlike the real world, they can pursue actions in the way they desire, leading them to become alienated from the real world. Due to this, they lose the opportunity of developing social skills and the capacity to broaden their perspective due to lack of achievement in knowledge.

To sum up, due to technological advancement, children are able to access inappropriate information and get addicted to video games, where both can cause harmful effects on their development. To prevent this, strict rules should be placed upon children to have them grow in a proper way.