Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some claim that history is essential for all people because those who forget history would never succeed. However, I believe that while history is beneficial for some people, this may not be the case for others, and the universities should not make history course a mandatory for all students. The reason to why I believe in such way will be elaborated in more detail below.

First of all, as mentioned above, history is not beneficial for all students. University is a place for students to pursue their interest and prepare themselves before diving into the job market. However, for students who are majoring in fields that are irrelevant to history would have a neutral effect on getting employed. As an example, for students who are majoring in engineering, having knowledge in history would not have any advantageous effect on showing high performance in their field. Even companies favor those who have experiences that are relevant to their field of study, not in history. For them, taking history courses would be a waste of time and would rather participate in conducting projects such as implementing a small robot.

Furthermore, forcing students to pursue certain actions is always not an apropos solution and can have negative consequences. There may be students who are disinterested in history or have no talent in such field and having them to take history courses would provide them with severe pressure and depression. Even though they try hard to get good grades, they would not be able to keep up with the course due to lack of talent in history, leading them to losing self-confidence and getting depression. This would also affect their overall grades, and because most of the companies have a propensity of favoring students who have high grades, it would inhibit them from getting proper jobs. Also, high school students who abhor history would avoid admitting their application to the university and less students would be attending the university every year.

To sum up, while some may claim that history is necessary for all people, forcing students to take history courses would not have the same beneficial effect on everyone, and can even have detrimental effects on some students. Due to these reasons, I believe that the universities should not make it a mandatory for students to take history courses.