Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are conflicting views regarding whether the students are influenced by their teachers or friends. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely say that students has more impact of their teacher rather than from their friends. It is my firm belief that teacher plays an important role in their students life to change them for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, the academic qualification of teacher is always superior than that of the student they teach. That level of knowledge is sufficient to change the student life, mostly in the subject matter in which they are connoisseur of. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been influenced by my own experience. You see, during my undergraduate year, I have proclivity to gain knowledge from my lecturer. So that, I used to be reluctant to have relationship with my classmates. As a result, I was not much influenced by my friends. For this reason, I used to be more attracted by my teacher's knowledge rather than with my friends behaviour.

Secondly,today's teacher is a yesterday's student; they understand student's psychology very well. For this reason, they act as if they too are student if they have to convince their student on any matter. I can be sure from my own experiences, these days I am working as lecturer in a reputed college named 'Acme Engineering College'. Sometime, when I see my students get deviated from what they need to do, I try to become their friend. As a result, I am the best teacher in that college. This means that they are highly influenced by me. It is clear to see from my experience why teacher are more influential to their students.

At last, in some cases students may have impact of their friends but that case is transient. Sometime, it seems that they want to do as their friend wanted them to do but this is only short-lived. What I meant to say will be clear from the example of my students. There are several students who wants to enjoy their life going to the club, tour and so on by the impact of their friend. But when return from that enjoyment to the college, they will again has follow their teacher and obey them. From this it is clear that, at first it seems that students are influenced by their friends but in long-run and in actual, they are influenced by their teacher.

In light of these above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that student are definitely impacted by their teacher rather than with their friends.