Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

We are all affected by people around us, for example, family members, friends, colleagues, and teachers of course. There is no single answer for who makes most influence to us because it is diverse between individuals. However, I don't believe teachers are more influential than friends.

Firstly, the number of teachers we meet in the school is limited and far less than friends. I actually have one teacher in my mind who taught economics enthusiastically so that I chose it as a university major. However, I have had more friends than that who changed my fundamental values, personality, and career. While teachers only have limited time to spend with certain student, friends sometimes spend time together sometimes even hours a day.

Secondly, typical students in Japan only have 16 years in schools. In the current society, mean age is over 80 years and professional career lasts over 40 years. It is obvious we have longer relationship with friends than with teachers. I have the friend with nearly 30 years of relationship out of 38-year life so far, while only 3 years is the longest relationship with teachers. In Japan, changing job, learning again in the school after starting professional career have become common, so that friends or colleagues we meet after graduating school play fairly large role in our life decisions.

The other aspect of recent change decreases influence of teachers. With the development of the internet and social media, the younger age students are exposed to broader society and various opinions from all over the world. The relationship established in the social media is not limited to same age, in other words, we can make friends in various age group including age of teachers. Teachers are no longer only the adults whom we know during the school days. Therefore, friends in today's world have more variety than ever, so that we tend to have friends much influential.

In summary, I believe friends have been more influential than teachers due to time and period we spend together, and, in addition, "friends" means more broader group in today's society, which increases influence from them.