Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

While some students may get influenced by their teachers, I think the majority of the students are influenced by their friends. The reasons why I believe this way will be discussed in the following passage.

First, I am assuming that most of the students only meet their teachers in the classroom. Teachers mostly talk about the subject, they are teaching. Students don't get to speak anything more than that. They can go to their office and speak about different topics but most of them don't. On the other hand, students are likely to spend more time with their friends apart from lecture hours. They might hang out with each other, may live in the same hostel, eat and play together, etc. Meanwhile, they are more likely to talk about different subjects and explore them, in turn influencing each other or catalyzing that spark of fire. For example, before joining my college I used to love football and played it in most of my leisure time. But, after joining my college, friends in my circle were more interested in playing cricket. So, I also started playing this sport and begin to admire it. Now, I was spending the majority of my free time playing cricket and also got selected for my college team.

Students can get influenced by their teacher, but they simply don't get the platform to interact with them more openly. They can meet them for a limited time. Most of the students are even shy of their teachers and don't even treat them as a mentor, simply restricting them to be a teacher.

This can be understood by the psychology of students. They are more comfortable interacting with people who lie in the same age group as they do. All of the teachers are twice or thrice their age. Therefore, it is obvious that a student will not be comfortable interacting with their teachers when compared to their friends who are in the same age group as theirs. A student might need a third person to start a talk between them and their teachers such as their parents. This type of situation rarely occurs and most of them never interact with their teachers.

Hence, considering the above two reasons, a student is more likely to be influenced by their friends rather than their teachers.