Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students always look for their role models in their lives. It is thought by some people that students look at their friends for inspiration rather than their teachers. However, this essay will discuss why in fact, students see their teachers as role models in their lives.

Contrary to the belief that friends have more influence in students lives, evidence has shown that students are inclined to see their teachers as people who they can look up to. For example, a survey held by the university of Toronto showed that 87 percent of students had their teachers as a role model. It is clear that student are more likely to consider their professors the most trusted and influential people in their lifetime.

Another reason that professors are more influential to their students is because teachers are very well-rounded and have a broad knowledge, which makes students more drown after their qualities and kindness. Even though not all teachers are good examples of representing those qualities, overall, the profession itself has the power to identify the best qualities of an educated person. To be more specific, when I was in high school, my role model was my math teacher. She was an intelligent person and loved her profession of teaching other people to become the best version of themselves. She saw all her students equally, which made us to not judge each other in the class. We were astonished by her way of teaching because she was very well -prepared and shared that knowledge with all of us. When students are surrounded by these kinds of people, they would really become inspired by them. I was inspired by my teacher and I was grateful for that. After all, I considered myself a lucky person. Therefore, I really believe that teachers who have a broad horizon could become the most influential people in students lives.