Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is an ongoing debate between parents who think that a teen is not mature enough to work and parents who believe that encourage their children to work any kind of job would help them to be better adults. I strongly believe that parents should support their children by encouraging them to work. I feel that for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, parents who push their children to take any kind of part time job would play an important role in their growth. If children expose themselves to the real life, they would be familiar and aware about the outside world. They would be able to learn and broaden their horizon. Although, children are not prepare physically to handle long hours of work, they could be trained by working as part timers. Therefore, children who work can develop new skills that would help them in the future.

Secondly, it is crucial to consider the fact that parents who allow their teenagers to work would help them to develop their independence and learn how to become responsible for their lives. If teens would have never worked before they become adults, then they would never be well equipped with knowledge that are related to the real life. For example, about two decades ago, when I was a teenager, I had to work because my family's budget was very tight. I worked in different kinds of jobs, where I developed different skills, which helped me later on to face challenge situations. Therefore, I became mature enough to critically think about issues that crossed my way. I felt that the independence that I gained throughout that period of time. made me an integrated and a better person. My parents were proud of me and had faith on me. Overall, I firmly believe that parents should encourage their children to work during their free time, so that they could gain Independence and become responsible in the foreseeable future.