Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students should not take part-time jobs while they are studying in universities.

With the labor-intensive economy giving its way to a more education-focused economy, the importance of higher-level education and engagement in tertiary institutions has been on the rise. This has, in return, led to issues on how one can be well-prepared for landing in better jobs. In this regard, some people hold the notion that students should be involved in part-time jobs while studying to get the idea of having an occupation and familiarize themselves with the work environment challenges. Whereas some have an alternative perspective that students should merely focus on their studies to get the most out of it. To my best knowledge, the latter group's conviction makes more sense, and students should devote their time to studying.

To commence with, universities are places that bridge the gap between high school and the workplace. Through studying in universities, students are endowed with the required knowledge and skills to land proper jobs. Acquiring this knowledge and hands-on experience is demanding and requires commitment. These part-time jobs impede students from putting all of themselves into studying and absorbing all the knowledge by occupying students' time and enervating their energy. For example, one of my friends was really ardent about acting, and she got into a great art school. She decided to have a part-time job as a salesperson to gain some experience and improve her social skills, which she thought could also benefit her acting career. Nevertheless, she ended up always being tired, even to the point that she skipped some classes to rest since she had a hectic schedule. The outcome was obvious; she ended up failing many classes, and the part-time job only provided her with mental and physical lethargy. Were it not for the part-time job, she could have been more successful.

Furthermore, some would argue that these part-time jobs can be influential since they endow a hands-on experience to students, give a peck into reality, and can be good financial aid. Nonetheless, the fact that almost all of these jobs are so menial and provide only a marginal revenue contradicts this maxim. Hence, it is a squander of time and energy. On the other hand, if students attend university full-time, they can devote more time to their studies. For instance, they can attend extra classes to widen their perspective and horizon, or they can conduct additional research and project to enhance their CVs and their chance of getting better jobs.

To recapitulate, the fact that these part-time jobs bring nothing but a distraction for students is an ample reason for one not to consider taking part-time jobs while studying. These jobs do not add value to a person's resume and are only a waste of time since they are always menial jobs with trivial incomes. The time spent on these jobs can be put in better uses to build up resume and improve the chances of better employment. Should you want a convenient life with a prosperous future, never undermine the role of education and a well-prepared resume.